All at sea

Standard

It has been a bit of a bumpy ride since the exam. Nothing dreadful, just out of sorts and not myself. Lost focus and lots of niggles.

It feels like pieces of a jigsaw are missing. I can’t move till I find a house and I can’t look for one until the flat sells, and He who lives in paradise is concerned that plummeting stock markets have made it difficult for him to produce the dosh etc, and it is all a mishmash of things not happening.

A 3000 word essay is due Tuesday night and I am about half way through. I have lost my drive. It was the one thing that kept me going, the degree, nursing and the future, but right now, even that has gone. (It will return, but it is not a good feeling when my true passion has faded).

It is a matter of (again) re-evaluating, making priorities, and taking manageable steps to get things done.

It does not help that apart from dog walks there has been no serious exercise. Endorphins really do work!

Oldest daughter had a blip at uni this week, boyfriend and other things and has been packed off home for a few days by her tutor for some TLC. It is hard when you are young and have to learn about the painful side of love. She arrives tomorrow. Having her here will be nice, although she warns me that she plans to sleep a lot!

I have vowed to do SOMETHING on the essay tonight , just to feel as though progress is being made. I have also downloaded ENDOMONDO on my phone – an app I used to have and used all the time.

I do this, flounder and then attempt to rally and boost myself up again,  we all do no doubt. But it is a bit like being all at sea, bobbing around, waiting for other things to fall into place so that I can get on.

But one thing happened today that was very unusual and very welcome. A large sum of money hit my account from Student Finance. I immediately allocated it to various places that will cover upcoming expenses, to my cash ISA and have some left which I plan to invest! (Part of my plan to put something towards my dotage as I do not have a pension here….). There are some who might think that student finance is for living on, it is, but I am so frugal at the moment that I do not for now, have to touch it. That may change when I come to buy my new home, so it may as well work for me while it can!

Wall Street – watch out!!!

2 responses »

  1. I think you are too hard on yourself. You seem to think that you should be able to cope with everything that life throws at you and still come up smiling. Truth is, no-one can do that all the time. There is nothing wrong with accepting help from others whether you ask for it or it was freely offered. I know that you would be one of the first to help someone who needed it – that’s one of the reasons you chose nursing as a career. If your boat is difficult to steer at the moment, let go of the tiller and let it take you where it will for a little while at least. You might end up in a different place but it won’t mean the end of your world. xx

    • Wise words. It is true that I expect to be able to cope with everything, partly because this is what I wanted. Of late it has struck me that I am less than two months into the separation and there is no rush to ‘get over it’. I will bear your advice in mind and let go of the tiller and do some bobbing. Thank you x

Leave a Reply

